In merging courses, the courses that are being merged into one are called “CHILD” courses. You may have noticed that these ‘child’ courses still appear in your course lineup as ‘unavailable’. That is by design, and cannot be changed. However, you can remove those courses from your COURSES module by clicking on the little ‘gear’ icon in the upper right of the module header, and deselecting them in the window that appears.
The final merged course is referred to as the “PARENT” course. You may also notice that merged courses have begun to have “-MERGED” appear in the ‘parent’ course names. This may help some of you to further distinguish between the ‘child’ and the ‘parent’ courses.